Da Lat to become centrally governed city 

Published: 29/06/2011 05:00


An overview of Da Lat City.

The Ministry of Construction Friday approved a proposal to turn the hill resort town of Da Lat in the Central Highlands province of Lam Dong into a centrally governed city.

The proposal was submitted by the Lam Dong Province People’s Committee.

The ministry said Da Lat deserves the status as it is one of the tourism attractions in Vietnam.

The city also serves as a large scientific research and training center, and the main supplier of vegetables and flowers for domestic consumption and export, it said.

The Central Highlands city also plays an important role in ensuring national security and defense, the ministry said.

It has asked Lam Dong Province authorities to draft a plan for the separation of Da Lat from Lam Dong.

Vietnam currently has five centrally governed cities, Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Da Nang, Hai Phong and Can Tho.

Source: Sai Gon Tiep Thi

Provide by Vietnam Travel

Da Lat to become centrally governed city  - Politics - News |  vietnam travel company

You can see more

enews & updates

Sign up to receive breaking news as well as receive other site updates!

Ads by Adonline